What's Your 2 Cents?

I Want To Know What You Think

New Health Care Reform Plan…Good or Bad Idea??

health care flow chartAlong with the Michael Jackson saga this summer, the new health care reform has been a hot topic.  Quoting barackobama.com the new health care plan will, “Making sure every American has access to high quality health care is one of the most important challenges of our time. The number of uninsured Americans is growing, premiums are skyrocketing, and more people are being denied coverage every day. A moral imperative by any measure, a better system is also essential to rebuilding our economy — we want to make health insurance work for people and businesses, not just insurance and drug companies.

My first thoughts were, “sounds good on paper.”  There are a lot of people who need health care so why not help them?  And if you like your current health care provider you can stay with them.  So everyone is happy and all is well in the world right? WRONG.  There are so many provisions and facts we aren’t hearing about, the whole nation is up in arms about it.  Take a look at the flow chart, easy to read right? Not confusing at all!

According to Rasmussen Reports the proposed health care plan is at an all time low approval rate of 42%.  The town hall meetings which are meant for educating us, are being confronted by angry mobs of people.  My opinion at the beginning of this whole escapade was if I can keep the insurance I like, and if uninsured people can get help then why not go for it!

Now I have realized even though we can keep the health care providers we already have, they could go out of business because of the competition of the government health plan.  Who could compete with anyone if someone is giving out the same thing for free?  I think there needs to be a lot more re-planning before anything can be changed.  I’m still learning about this issue, as we all are, but come on, this is a REALLY bad joke right?

So now I ask you, is the new health care plan a good or bad idea?

August 13, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

9 Comments »

  1. Your blog makes sense to me. Why would people purchase health care if they can get the same one for free? Do you think that the health care they are providing for free is really going to be free. Nothing worth anything in this country is free. Do you think that they will seriously provide a health care program for everyone as good as the health care they provide for the USMC. Not likely because civilians are not as important as military personnel. Do you think that you may really be able to go to the ER in the future and not have to pay anything for it. Not likely. There is always a charge for something. Even if it means making payments until you eventually die. You see, I am still in limbo about this new health care system, I actually do not have any health care plan at this time. Luckily I do not get sick very often, but the idea of a health care plan for the poverty class like myself is intriguing. But I’m in limbo because I wonder where all this money is coming from to pay for all these people that (scary thought) are actually poorer than myself will benefit from this. I don’t want to sound like a blatant racist, but Obama might as well open the borders to Mexico and allow anyone with access to the countries many voting booth to Cast Away (like Tom Hanks) in 2012 and reelect the man that won the election by pointing out the deficit only to double the deficit before Air Force One officially landed. But let’s not worry about health care or social security because in case most people didn’t notice the “King of Pop” passed away. So what do I think, F It! Give health care to everyone in the world, WTF are people still dying of polio for?

    Comment by Neil | August 13, 2009 | Reply

  2. This is such a touchy subject for many. On one hand, I used to work with an older woman in her 50s when I was a nurse’s aid. She had tremendous pain in her back from the work. However, the health insurance through work was so expensive that she would have had to forgo half of her paycheck to get covered on a policy through them. She had no option other than to go to the black market for pain pills. There was no other option! If she didn’t have those pills, she couldn’t work. Being Ohio, there were no jobs and she didn’t have much education.
    On the other hand, I know someone who sells health insurance. He has strongly voiced his disgust of Obama’s healthcare plan. He told me if Obama’s plan went through, there would be no more insurance salesman…..he would be out of work. Since he’s been in this line of work for 25 years, he would be screwed out of work as well. I now this is all in Ohio, and the state and many in it are screwed and have been repeatedly screwed over for years, but this would be one way to re-screw over another hard working American.
    All in all, there is no one set solution that will work for everyone. Change comes with many road blocks. I applaud Obama for taking this issue seriously. It seems like the issue with healthcare is mirroring the issue with gas over the past ten years. As it is, people go to Canada to get more reasonably priced prescriptions. I hope all Americans (not incluing those who are here illegally) have condoms to put over their heads, because were about to take another huge screwing over one way or another!

    Comment by Eve | August 13, 2009 | Reply

  3. The idea is that the overall cost of heatlthcare would be reduced if everyone had health care because we would discover illnesses before they were bad enough to go to the emergency room, and therefore would be easier to treat. One of the leading causes of bankruptcy in the US is medical bills! So not only are you or your loved one sick, you also lose everything that you have worked for because you cannot afford the treatment necessary to live.
    In my opinion, when it comes the health care we encounter some of the most emotional and challenging situations of our lives, and the ability to pay should not determine the amount of pain tht a family must endure in such a situation.

    I do no think that health care reform will succeed, because too many people have been working too long and too hard to prevent it from ever happening here.
    We claim to stand for equality, but apparently only when it doesnt interfere with something else that we stand for; in this case, Capitalism.

    Comment by Carin | August 13, 2009 | Reply

    • what does equality really mean? it seems to me that everyone has a different idea of equality……..In my opinion a better word would be equal opportunity which seems to be very different from your idea of “equality”

      Comment by d | March 21, 2010 | Reply

  4. I have mixed thoughts on health care reform. I want to see change. Since I was diagnosed with an incurable autoimmune disease, I will spend the rest of my life undergoing treatments and check ups. I feel punished by our current health care system. I am so discouraged by the costs of my treatments that sometimes I put them off, but my condition only worsens and my overall health and quality of life deteriorates. However, I don’t believe Obama’s plan will reduce the cost of treatment for my disease. I’ve taken reform into my own hands. I advocate to insurance companies to make more treatments available, I advocate for government funding to research my disease and treatments, I donate to this research, and I raise awareness for my disease.

    I do believe there needs to be more insurance options for individuals who are unemployed with no health insurance and who are employed by a company that offers no health insurance options. If you have ever been there (or known someone), it’s difficult to find affordable insurance so you gamble on your health and pray you don’t have a serious accident/illness during that time. This is a market that needs competition to bring down cost but I’m skeptical if government provided free health insurance is the best answer. But even if Obama’s plan rolls out I believe the majority of American’s will keep their current health insurance; it’s comfortable. I complain about my insurance but I’m better off than many Americans without any insurance coverage.

    Comment by Amy | August 16, 2009 | Reply

  5. Most of the problems with the health care system are because of too much government intervention not too little. Insurance companies should be allowed to compete across state lines, there shouldn’t be government mandates on which illnesses have to be covered, lawyers shouldn’t be allowed to become millionaires by misleading juries, the list goes on and on. The government, as usual, is already doing more harm than good and now it wants to do so much more.

    Also, preventative medicine (mandatory checkups) does not bring costs down. Everyone has to participate but only a few people would ever get the disease they are trying to prevent. People should be responsible for their own lifestyle choices and insurance companies should be able to charge irresponsible people more like they can for life and car insurance.

    Our government is broke and people act like we can just keep piling on debt forever. No one will have public health care when the government goes bankrupt.

    Comment by johnds80 | August 23, 2009 | Reply

  6. The health care reform can go F itself! how can someone be forced into buying health insurance? A fine for not having health insurance? WTF whats next? receiving a fine for being overweight.

    Comment by Bullyloco | March 23, 2010 | Reply

  7. health plans may be expensive but it is really very necessary to get one for yourself *.~

    Comment by Thermoplastic Elastomers | December 1, 2010 | Reply

  8. Even though I genuinely like this post, I believe there was an spelling error shut to the end of your third section.

    Comment by site | June 5, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

