What's Your 2 Cents?

I Want To Know What You Think

Michael Vick: Should He Play or Should He Go?

VickSo I’m not going to lie and act like I know a thing about football because I don’t .  I watch football on Thanksgiving and watch the Superbowl.  I’ll even watch the Ohio State Vs. Michigan game (Go Buckeyes!) but that is about it.  I moved to San Diego a few years ago and I didn’t even know the Chargers were a football team.

With that said, when something becomes big in the news, I tend to listen.  Mostly because its in your face for at least a few days.  So of course I have heard about Vick getting signed to the Eagles.  My first reaction was who is he? Sorry but again, I’m not a huge football fan.  So since I’m doing this blog, I thought I would do a little research and see what people think about this heated subject.

So a quick run down for the people who are just as football “special” as me, Vick was charged with dogfighting charges in 2007.  He was found guilty and spent almost two years in prison.  Well after reading up a bit more I realized in 2007, the Eagles owner had this to say about the conviction:

Jeffrey Lurie said that he’d “never” allow someone who was involved in dogfighting to play for the Eagles.”We’re very disciplined in what we stand for,” Lurie told reporters just over two years ago   “Let me give you an example — a few years ago we had a couple players who were . . . to put this nicely, not very respectful of their dogs. . . .  Well, we don’t respect that.  We don’t do that.  And they were gone from the team almost immediately if not immediately.  That sets a tone, that these kinds of attitudes are unacceptable.”

So now I wonder, “why did he change his mind?”  I am a dog lover, and I wouldn’t want to be around somone like that.  Especially with the economy the way it is why should someone who has been in prison, come out and get a huge paycheck?? Are the Eagles that desperate to have anyone on their team? I don’t know.

But then I think about all the NFL players who go out and get DUI’s and party hard.  People aren’t perfect, and he isn’t the only person in the NFL with a shady past.  I don’t agree with what he has done, or that he has “changed his ways” I feel he is just getting his stuff in order to get his job back.

So now I ask you “What’s your 2 cents?”

August 14, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

6 Comments »

  1. I am aware of who Michael Vick is, in fact I dressed as him for Halloween in 2007. I was appalled by his allegations. I have a pit bull and I am very much aware of the image pit bulls carry, and i thought his case made pit bulls out to be fighters and not great dogs. i wanted more than any thing to burn mike vick at the cross; it was an awful thing he had did to these dogs and to the image of pit bulls. In the aftermath most of the dogs were euthanized but some were placed in care of adopted families(after training). I truly was disgusted of the guy, yeah I dressed as him for Halloween, but you have to understand my humor to get that. It was only until recently that I have began to think another way. i am a christian, and we are founded on the principle of forgiveness, so of course I should forgive him. I do and I don’t. i forgive what he did, i believe he did pay his dues…i think as of now he is bankrupt. however it is hard for me to forgive the way his story provided the image of pit bulls as being aggressive and fighting dogs. When in fact they are truly sweet and innocent, its the owners that corrupt them.

    Comment by Melanie | August 14, 2009 | Reply

  2. I do watch football… a lot. In 2001, the San Diego Chargers had the first pick of the draft and were set to take Mike Vick. However, the Falcons wanted him more and traded picks including their pick at number 5, in which the Chargers selected Ladainian Tomlinson. LT(his nickname) has now been the best offensive player San Diego has ever had. So, people in the San Diego area should remember him well, and be glad we weren’t cursed to have drafted him. I am not going to lie, I was a big fan of Michael Vick before he was charged with masterminding a dog fighting ring. Let’s keep in mind that I am the proud owner of 2 big dogs, both being mutts mixed with pit bulls. These charges against him are serious. Dog lovers around the country voiced their opinion how serious they were.
    Mike Vick is an evil mastermind is what he is portrayed to be. Mike Vick is an idiot. He listened to his friends and paid money to host this illegal activity without knowing the consequences behind it. He lost his NFL career at the peak of his prime. He also lost millions of dollars, respect from 99% of Americans, and served over a year in a prison. He lost, nobody won but he paid a price.
    Since then, he has been tutored by Tony Dungy, a respected former coach and devout Christian leader. He also has been working with the Humane Society to speak on behalf of preventing illegal dog fighting. Most people are not aware that Philadelphia is one of the largest cities in America for hosting illegal dog fighting. Mike Vick is an example of what not to be. Most Americans were appalled by his charges because they did not realize that dog fighting was a huge market for underground illegal gambling. Most Americans did not realize that dog fighting was all around them and Vick’s case put it on the fore-front. Vick wasn’t always a dog murderer as he has been portrayed, Bad Newz Kennel was started after Vick made millions of dollars playing in the NFL.
    Vick is a criminal and belongs behind bars. What happens after you serve your time? Where do all of the criminals go? Don’t they still have to earn a living? Vick is a football player, this is what he is good at. If he was a writer/painter/actor should he be allowed to resume his craft? Of Course. If people will pay for their services then naturally they should be allowed to work.
    Who cares if he is allowed to play football or not? If you don’t like it then don’t watch the Philadelphia Eagles. If you think he should be banned from working then “He without sin can cast the first stone.” God loves sinners, but he hates the sin. If you don’t care, then join the rest of America. Vick is a complete moran, but he sure can play football.

    Comment by Neil | August 14, 2009 | Reply

  3. Didn’t Michael Vick get an education in college? Or did he get drafted into the NFL before he graduated? If he did receive a degree, then use it. As far as I am concerned, if you are thrown out of the NFL, then no reinstatement. Use the education that you have earned and go from there. Once out stay out. That’s the way baseball does it (Pete Rose).

    Comment by Momo | August 16, 2009 | Reply

  4. He served his time in prison. Why should he be forbidden from playing football? Should we make a list of jobs that would be acceptable? Would we suggest that an accountant convicted of the same offense shouldn’t be allowed to be an accountant ever again? I don’t think the NFL piling on after this guy has paid the legal penalty makes any sense. If he can’t behave himself then eventually no one will hire him (i.e. Plaxico Burress, Lawrence Phillips, etc.). If he keeps his nose clean and is not a liability for his team, however, what’s the big deal?

    Comment by johnds80 | August 17, 2009 | Reply

  5. Also, Ohio State sucks.

    Comment by johnds80 | August 17, 2009 | Reply

  6. this comment is coming a little late, but it is something that’s worth considering…

    Tony Dungy is one of, if not the most respectable men to every be involved in professional sports and he has gone on record saying that Mike has definitely reformed his ways. Not just paid his time, not just said he’s sorry, but really changed. If you’ve read any of his recent comments then you realize that he honestly knows he lost a chance to be a role model. In my experience there are few people better to learn from than those who have been at both the top and the bottom. I think Mike’s rehabilitation, part of which is getting back into the League, is a big win for poor communities that are struggling with things like dog-fighting, because now there is guy that everyone knows about who has realized how disgusting of a thing it is to do…

    Comment by Andrew | September 14, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

